Fireworks and Feathers

Last night I went downtown to see the Nashville fireworks display for the first time.  Let me just tell you… if you haven’t gone to see it, you need to.  They say it is the biggest in the country, and I think I believe them now.  It is a must-see for sure!  I was just left in awe.

There was this one single firework in particular that drew me in like none of the rest.  I feel it now in my chest of how it felt to be there.  This firework was massive.  Explosive, obviously.  It seemed to swallow the entire audience of thousands of people.  I looked with my face turned toward the sky, not willing to look away, and it completely enveloped me.  It was graceful.  It was fierce.  And it was huge.

In Psalm 91:4 it says, “He will cover you with his feathers, and under his wings you will find refuge; his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.”

I read this verse this morning, and it reminded me of that firework.  I imagine the safe, protective, faithful, and gracious feathers and wings of the Father.  Returning to that feeling in my chest that I couldn’t escape or ignore.  More mighty than my mind can imagine.  More fierce than my heart can handle.

Enveloping.

Steadying.

Protecting.

Drawing me in, wanting more.

When I don’t ask for it.  When I don’t recognize it.  When I forget about Him.  The Faithful One remains with His wings, with his feathers, fighting the darkness, lighting up the night, conquering the darkness.

Psalm 91 goes on to say, “You will not fear the terror of the night nor the arrow that flies by day, nor the pestilence that stalks in the darkness, nor the plague that destroys at midday.”

Whatever comes, wherever I may be, whomever I may be with, He is present. Through fears of the night and confusion of the day.  In the fight of the mind, where thoughts and terrors seem to win.  He is present.  Because of His presence, I am not stuck.  I am not defeated.  I shall not remain discouraged.

Because…

He covers me with his feathers.  In His wings I will find refuge.  His faithfulness is my shield and my rampart.  My protection forever.

Leave a comment