This Thanksgiving Day: A poem

This Thanksgiving Day: 
I’m thinking of you this Thanksgiving Day.
“Who?” You may ask, and it’s hard to say.
The turkey, the pie, the stuffing divine
Don’t touch the heart when things are just “fine.”

I’m thinking of you if your heart is in pieces.
This world seems cruel where hate only increases.
Disease, violence, pain, and regret
Flood our minds with heaviness we cannot forget.

I’m thinking of you if you’re missing someone-
A hole in your heart that can’t be undone.
A grandparent, a friend, a sister, or brother
A father, a husband, a wife, or a mother.

I’m thinking of you if you’re far away
Working so hard for the next pay day.
You might be near with a mind long gone
Depression and anxiety you can depend on.

I’m thinking of you if your world fell apart-
Ripping all the good things from your heart.
Some are in bondage in the struggle of power
Left feeling alone in a cold dark tower.

Thinking of you this Thanksgiving Day.
Laughter and love for you I pray.
I pray you can choose truth and throw away the lies.
I pray for strength and peace when emotions arise.

I pray that he touches your heart with his hand
And heals you in ways you don’t understand.
I pray that you believe and know that he cares.
“I have summoned you by name; you are mine.” He declares.

Dear Reader, please know He cares for you.
He sees you and knows you and loves you, it’s true.
Our Father is present, He meets you right here.
Freedom will find you as you persevere.

I know not your heartache, frustration, or pain 
But I know He brings life like the spring rain.
His redemption is coming, still He’s present; our stay-
Restoring hope to all nations this Thanksgiving Day.

*Isaiah 43

Leave a comment